Recupel appliance list from 1 January 2022

The six main categories from 01/01/2022 are:

  1. Temperature exchange equipment
  2. Screens, monitors, and equipment containing screens having a surface greater than 100 cm²
  3. Light bulbs
  4. Large equipment (any external dimension more than 50 cm)
  5. Small equipment (no external dimensions more than 50 cm)
  6. Small IT and telecommunications equipment (no external dimension more than 50 cm)


Download the appliance list

The main basic principles from 1 January 2022

The appliance list is not exhaustive, only illustrative

New electrical and electronic appliances are constantly appearing on the market. The Recupel appliance list is therefore not exhaustive. It is an illustrative list that provides definitions, examples and exceptions for both household and professional appliances. As from 1 January 2022, all electrical and electronic appliances must be declared, unless otherwise stated in the appliance list. The exceptions are either mentioned in the European Directive 2012/19/EU or specifically stated per subcategory.

You can always submit a specific question about an appliance via the online contact form on our website.

How is the appliance list built?

 Each category has a number:

  1. The first figure always indicates the European main category.
  2. The other digits refer to the subcategories.
  3. Professional appliances belong to subcategories of which the last 2 digits are equal to or greater than 50.

Whether an appliance belongs to main category 4 (one external dimension > 50 cm), category 5 (all external dimensions ≤ 50 cm) or main category 6 (IT and telecommunications equipment with all external dimensions ≤ 50 cm) depends on its size. For each appliance that belongs to main category 4, you can find the same type of appliance in main category 5 or 6. For example, a light fitting with one external dimension > 50 cm falls into subcategory 4.6 and a light fitting of which all external dimensions ≤ 50 cm belongs to subcategory 5.6.

The dimensions of an appliance determine the category

To assign an appliance to a main category 4, 5 or 6, the size of the appliance is decisive.

Some tips:

  • Refer to the manufacturer's information.
  • Is the manufacturer's information not sufficient? Then base your decision on the size of the appliance in its most compact form. Non-electric accessories, such as vacuum cleaner accessories that can be easily removed, should not be included when measuring an appliance. Cables should be measured in their most compact form and not in their total length.

If one of the measurements (width, height, length) of the appliance is greater than 50 cm, the appliance is assigned to main category 4. Appliances for which all external dimensions are less than 50 cm belong to the main categories 5 and 6.

From 10 to 6 categories

Filing a declaration for a quarter before 1 January 2022

Until 31/12/2021, electric and electronic appliances were divided into 10 main European categories. Within these categories, there was also a division 'household' and 'professional'. Althought this was not the intended use (since 01/01/2022), but objective criteria such as weight and power determined the household or professional character of an appliance. To help convert the categories (valid until 31/12/2021 versus valid from 01/01/2022), a conversion table is available.

To the conversion table

Consult the appliance list of previous years

How do you make a declaration?

As a manufacturer or importer, you file a declaration of the appliances you market.

Read more

What is the difference between domestic and professional appliances?

 Since 1th of January 2022 the domestic or professional character of an appliance is determined by the inteded use of the appliance.

Read more